Visa Waiver Agreement Philippines

Philippine visa policy is governed by Commonwealth Act 613, also known as the Philippine Immigration Act, and subsequent laws to amend the law. The law is jointly implemented by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (AED) and the Immigration Office (IB). Visitors from 157 countries can enter without a visa for a period of 14 to 59 days. The visa waiver program in the Philippines is governed by Executive Order 408[2] signed by President Carlos P. Garcia on November 9, 1960 and subsequent executive broadcasts that amend it. While visa is issued by the IB, the program is managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs itself, which maintains a list of countries eligible to participate in the program. In principle, nationals of countries that have diplomatic relations with the Philippines and whose nationals are not considered restricted by the FDFA can enter the Philippines without a visa. Authorized nationals who benefit from the visa exemption must have a passport valid for at least six months after the planned stay. [3] [4] Nationals of countries with diplomatic relations with the Philippines are generally allowed to enter the consulate without a temporary visit visa if their stay does not exceed thirty (30) days. Visitors who use this non-visa privilege must, for tourism reasons, go to the entrance to the Philippines and have a return ticket, which must be presented upon arrival at the port of entry to the Philippines, in front of the Philippine immigration authorities.

Visa-free travel does not include those who plan to study, work or stay in the United States for more than 90 days or who are considering changing their status (from tourism to students, etc.) in the United States. These travelers need visas. If an immigration officer believes that a visa-free traveller will study, work or stay for more than 90 days, the official will refuse to accept the traveller. U.S. passport holders are covered by this rule. If the planned stay in the Philippines lasts more than 30 days, a temporary visa application must be submitted to the consulate. An updated application form is available. The new form contains additional questions to meet the new travel authorization requirements required by law.

Travellers seeking an ESTA are encouraged to use the extensive system that will help define any of the individual exemptions. There is no separate request for waiver. The balikbayan return can enter the Philippines without a visa and stay for a period of one (1) year for tourist purposes. Under the Philippine government`s Balikbayan (Republic Act 6768) program, the term Balikbayan includes the Philippines granting visa exemptions to nationals of a number of countries with which the Philippines has diplomatic relations.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by diane. Bookmark the permalink.